Teacup Collectors Interview Series | Ann-Therese’s Love for Blue and White

The Teacup Collectors Interview Series  is a blog segment where we get a sneak peek inside the cupboards of people all over the world. My special guest today is Ann-Therese, a Supervisor from Söderhamn Sweden 


Teacup collecting has quite the cult following. How did you discover it? Tell us your story.

I have always loved drinking tea…but I  didn’t  actually start to collect teacups until maybe 1½ years ago.

What was your first piece?

My grandmother gave me two english teacups a few years ago before she passed away. White background, with blue roses on them. The pattern name is “Blue cluster”. I really love them!

Blue Cluster by British Anchor courtesy Ann-Therese
Blue Cluster by British Anchor courtesy Ann-Therese

Tell me a little about what you collect. Is it a particular style, period, colour or just a random draw to a particular piece?

I collect anything…I have Japanese, Chinese and English china. But I love Blue & white pieces in particular. I have a small love for English china and a lot of German pieces too.

Share 3 images from your collection and tell us a little about each?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  1. My Blue & white Churchill cups…Gripsholm are the name of this collection. I found 11 cups and saucers at a   for only 10 dollars.

  2. Johnson Brothers Indies…got this one online at Etsy, from USA. I love it. Unfortunately its broken so I keep it as a flowerpot instead. Still beautiful to me.

  3. Selb bavaria…striped and graphical. Classical design. I got this from a person selling some of her collection online. I couldn’t resist since I love the teapot.

Where do you find your inspiration for what to collect?

I mainly look at internet. I spend a good amount of time in the Facebook group “Teacups ❤ Coffee cups” where I get to see other cup lovers collections.

Do you have any recommendations for new users who say “ I don’t know where to start?”

It’s not that difficult. But I would suggest going with what is pretty and what your heart desires.

Stuck on a desert island, what are your 3 must have items?

My camera, a great tea and my favourite teacup, of course!

What’s your latest purchase? Best bargain?

My latest purchase was 11 cups of English Churchill, Blue & white,  just as I love them. 10 dollars for the lot.

Any other hobbies?

I’m a photographer (not active at the moment) so I try to attend some photo competitions now and then. I love to travel…great combo by the way. I also admin the Facebook group I mentioned earlier. Teacups ❤ Coffee cups.

Most Teacup collectors also seem to love tea or coffee. What’s your favourite tea/coffee?

I’m not actually a great fan of coffee. But I do have some coffee cups in my collection. Some Russian pieces of Lomonosov.


***

Ann-Therese, thank you so much for sharing your collection with us!

For all you wonderful readers looking to connect, you can find Ann-Therese and more of her creativity here:

Blogwww.anntherese.se
Facebook Group: Teacups ❤ Coffee cups
Instagramanntherese1977

Leave a Reply

