Shop Feature Interview Series | Just My Cup of Tea

The Shop Feature Series  is a blog segment where we get to chat with artistes and find out about their inspiration and story. My special guest today is Michelle, who’s work I found on Instagram.  Her stuff is just awesome on Etsy ! And don’t you just love the name of her shop? Anyway, you’re forewarned of all the cuteness… lots of photos


 Tell us your about you and your shop…

My name is Michelle Felix, I’m 24 years old and come from the beautiful island of Puerto Rico although, I currently live in small town Conway, Arkansas with my boyfriend and lovable dogs. I’m the creator and owner of Just My Cup of Tea. Ever since little I’ve been devoted to art. Art student all the way through college with a BA in Communications in Visual Arts. I practically enjoy anything that has to do in the creativity scene, crafts and fine arts.

Before I opened the shop, I figured I needed a catchy name. It had to be a name that once you saw it you thought elegance and at the same time you could see a vintage style going on, until one day I was thinking how much I love vintage teacups and thought about how when people say something they like, they use the saying “my cup of tea” or if not, “not my cup of tea”. Then came the idea My Cup of Tea, and finally, since it’s my passion in life, I decided on Just My Cup of Tea, meaning my art.

I opened Just My Cup of Tea last March. That’s when I finally decided to take a leap and instead of just making art, I decided that it was time to share it with the world. I started listing paintings I had done but not much after that I started experimenting with polymer clay. That’s how my art came to be 3d.

Tell us about the goodies available at “Just My Cup of Tea”

My product consists of handmade charms made out of polymer clay. My favorite clay to work with is the Sculpey Premo! brand. I just love the consistency that it gives you to create pretty much anything in mind. My product is designed for just about anyone as the most I do are commissions measured by the customer. Although age wise, I would say that my product is designed for mostly girls from 13 and up.

Just My Cup of Tea promises uniqueness, creativity and a representation of something special and meaningful to the public. Every piece is hand sculpted and has its subtle differences making them extra special. It is important for me to know that the customer is 100% satisfied with the product they’re about to purchase for themselves or as a gift to someone special to them.

At the moment, Just My Cup of Tea products are available through Etsy. I do a lot of networking through Facebook, Instagram and Twitter but when it comes to purchase, everything is available at my little Etsy shop. (www.etsy.com/shop/justmycupofteashop). I’m all about caring about what the customer wants, taking into consideration their expectations and achieving that satisfaction through the product. 

Where do you find your inspiration for your pieces?

I like to think that apart from my own tastes, I find my inspiration in the people I meet. Everyone has their own style so I try to incorporate my style with theirs. My charms, necklaces, bracelets, etc. each make a statement and each have a story. I tend to go more for a vintage, elegant and classy kind of style. If it’s a custom made piece I may do different as I have done different styles like for example custom made horror movie character pendants, which was something I had never done before, but it was still fun to make. The important thing is to sometimes go out of the box with your style and show the people that you can be capable of so much more than just what they see.

Is there a favourite piece in your current collection?

It’s a little tough to choose a favorite piece from all of my experimenting with polymer clay but I would have to choose the teacup, mini macaron and croissant charm necklace. I just love how realistic the croissant ended up looking, being one of the first pieces I ever made. Also I just feel it describes me as a person and this necklace would make me feel like all of the sudden I’m sitting at a little cafe in France, which is where I’ve always wanted to go.

Croissant
Fancy a Croissant?

20150619-1114910507

Mini macaroon
Mini macaroon

Any alternative ways for reusing your pieces?

My handmade charms are available in many ways. First, I started making necklaces but now I use them for key chains, charm bracelets, stud earrings and hook earrings. I would love to add magnets between other things as a way to expand my product pretty soon.

What can we expect from the shop in the future? Any new launches, promotions?

In a near future I wish for Just My Cup of Tea to be known and acknowledged more around the world, have more orders come in, meaning meeting more people and satisfying their needs as customers. I love making people happy doing what I do and hearing their feedback. It also means a lot watching my product travel and reaching cool places where I haven’t even have the pleasure to visit. I usually announce discounts on National days, like National Ice Cream Day for example, if I have made a product that represents that day. Also, I’m going to be doing a lot more giveaways. I can say there is a lot more to come to Just My Cup of Tea. I have so many surprises I want to share with you all, so stay tuned!!

Stuck on a desert island, what are your 3 must have items?

I must say a trilogy or some sort of book collection, if that counts as one, a comfortable bed and some really cool machine that makes me whatever I want to eat and drink.

Just for fun, are you a tea or coffee drinker? If not, what’s your beverage of choice in the morning?

I’m definitely a tea drinker. I don’t usually drink coffee unless it’s at Starbucks or a fun dessert flavor like crème brûlée or tiramisu. Tea soothes and relaxes me. I love making myself a cup of tea and enjoying the quietness of a room before I head to work on my pieces. I love any kind of tea although chamomile, peppermint and raspberry tea are at the top of my list.


***

Michelle, thank you so much for sharing your Just My Cup of Tea with us! Do pop back with more photos of your of your creations.

For all you wonderful readers who want to connect with Michelle, you will find all the details below. Show her some love and Go visit her shop NOW www.etsy.com/shop/justmycupofteashop 

Twitter: @justmycupoftea8
Facebook : https://www.facebook.com/justmycupofteashop1
Instagram:@justmycupofteashop

One thought on “Shop Feature Interview Series | Just My Cup of Tea”

Leave a Reply

