Another A6 Hobonichi Techo with Mina Perhonen "Sometimes Lucky" cover

HOBONICHI INTERVIEW SERIES | INSIDE PALESTBLUE’S HOBONICHI TECHO PART 2

The Hobonichi  Interview Series  is a blog segment where we get a sneak peek inside the diary of another Hobonichi user. This is Part 2 of the interview with Palestblue, from Germany. In this post you will get to see inside her lovely Hobo! Check out Part 1 here. 


So what’s inside your Hobo?

palest1
A typical spread from @Palestblue

This is a pretty typical spread in my Hobonichi. I really love doodling delicious food I ate and beverages I had and just random stuff that happened or that inspired me. I have a huge washi tape collection and I use quite a bit of washi on my pages. All doodles in this picture were outlined with a Sakura Micron 01 pen and colored with SchminckeHoradam water colours.

palest4
Chibbi doodling by @palestblue

I just recently got into doodling Chibi-characters, they are so cute! Sometimes I will use a chibi drawing to illustrate my mood on a certain day. All of these doodles were outlined with a Faber Castell Pitt Artist pen in the smallest tip and then colored using Pitt Artist Pens with brush tips. The Pitt Artist pens dry very quickly and are water proof after drying. So they are very different to work with than water colors, but I love them very much.

palest5
Doodling Movies and TV Shows by @Palestblue

Drawing logos of movies or TV-shows you watched or the covers of books you read is such a wonderful way of illustrating what you were doing that day. Sometimes I like to just stick to simple black pen and some water color doodling, if I don’t feel like using a lot of stickers or washi. All doodles in this picture were outlined with a Sakura Micron 01 pen and colored with Winsor and Newton Cotman water colors.

palest2
Who says you have to doodle everyday things? by @Palestblue

I don’t always draw every-day things… sometimes I just draw random things that come to mind. I am very fascinated by Dinosaurs and visit Natural History museums a lot (in fact I try to visit the Natural History Museum in any city that I travel to). So my Hobonichi pages are full of dinosaur illustrations J. All doodles in this picture were outlined with a Sakura Micron 01 pen and colored with Schmincke Horadam water colors.

palest3
Scary dinosaur ? by @Palestblue

In fact, I may be a little dinosaur obsessed haha.

palest6
A Challenge… by @Palestblue

It is nice to challenge yourself once in a while… for this spread, I challenged myself to use as little color as possible (I only added a dab of pale pink for the sakura blossoms). I also mixed all my greys from scratch (using red, blue and yellow). It looks different from my usual illustrations, but I like how this spread turned out. All doodles in this picture were outlined with a Sakura Micron 01 pen and colored with Winsor and Newton Cotman water colours.

Anything else you’d like to tell us?

Thank you so so much for your questions and the chance to share my thoughts on your wonderful blog J

If anyone would like to contact me and connect via email or snail mail, I am always very happy to get to know people who love stationery and art and all things Hobonichi, so I would love to hear from you!!

 How do we find out more about Maria?

  • Instagram: @palestblue
  • YT: palestblue
  • You can also contact me via Email: email.palestblue at googlemail.com

Thank you Maria, for sharing inside your Hobo. If you’re looking for ideas or inspiration on how to journal in your Hobonichi, I’d highly recommend Maria. Go subscribe to her channel now and spend an afternoon with few nice cups of tea. Trust me, you’ll thank me later.

If you’ve been inspired by someone to journal, leave me a comment below. I’d love to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

