Vintage Flicker Finds – London Typewriter Edition – Part 1

I had a fantastic 4.5 months in London! Half of which I spent on “vacation”. London is really great in the Summer. If you haven’t been, I highly recommend it. After the first few weeks of catching up with friends, I started to yearn for the thrill of finding “New” vintage items. I have a particular penchant for portable  manual typewriters, for which the start of this addiction, needs an entire post. (I’ll put that on my To Do list ! ).

 

 

I began to visit websites such as Gumtree and the garage sale app Shpock and visited my favourite Car Boot sale in Pottersbury, for new treasures.

img_7975
The Olympia SF was the first find on Shpock

 

 

il_570xn-1045341806_eo6g
Here’s the same machine, cleaned up !

I wasn’t sure what I was looking for at first, but after a seeing a few more posts from Richard Polt’s European collection, author of the Typewriter Revolution, I started to create a wish list. Top of the list was the Groma Kolibri, closely followed by a Princess 300 and Hermes 3000.

img_8362
Imperial Good Companion – Obsessed with this exposed type bar styles of the 1960’s
img_8369
The Valentine – I can see why it has a cult following and a must for most collectors. It’s sexy!
img_8430
Smith Premier Chum – In fact a rebranded Remington Portable
img_8629
Hermes 300 – This is my favourite
img_8658
Remington Home Portable, UK Version. I can imagine being a BBC Reporter with one of these on my lap.

Most of these machines just require some cleaning. The Hermes is just so wonderful to type on, I don’t think I will part with it! The Olympia SF has just sold to a lovely lady. I hope she enjoys it! You can find other machines for SALE in the store. Maybe one will make you Flicker !

Stay tuned for Part 2… yes, I brought even more machines home!

 

Leave a Reply

